Farewell Good Friend

I’ve been putting this off for a long time.  Actually, I’ve been putting off writing to this blog at all for a long time — wasting my time in other places while futilely pursuing other writing projects that I abandon for other writing projects that I abandon to stare into the abyss.  I did not intend to leave this blog without new posts as long as I have, and perhaps I will change that in the near future..  I have plenty to say about GW2 (still playing, and yes, I even play my 80), Planetside 2, and the search for a replacement for Glitch: a preferably browser based, whimsical game that allows for creative expression and gives tools to enable goofy fun with friends.  A pretty damn specific search right?

That’s the gap that Glitch leaves in gaming.  It filled a truly unique niche, and it struggled for that reason.  But it shined for that reason as well.   Glitch shined because of the work of some great people.  And Glitch shined because it attracted some great people.  In the year that I played the game, I met countless smart, witty, creative, and kind Glitchen.  In many games where it is possible for other players to interfere with my fun, I learned to dread the approach of strangers.  Despite that grief could and did happen in Glitch, I never learned that dread.  Instead, odds were pretty good that most strangers were worth knowing.

Many who did not play dismissed the game as designed for hipsters: the silliest criticism I’d ever heard.  I met a wide variety of people ranging in age from too young to forever young.  I met scientists and corporate executives and students and teachers and truck drivers and professors and project managers and writers and artists and at least one sentient peanut butter sandwich.  Okay, I made the last one up.

I’ve had so much fun in Glitch, experienced so many unique moments: in honor of the new trailer sadly released after the closure announcement, here’s 17 fun things I did in Glitch.

The oldest pic I have of miners in TimTim Timm

Went to Timtim Timm to mine but stuck around for the company.

Frightened Kristen Marie.

Frightened Kristen Marie

Had my house jellied while I was offline because I say ridiculous things.

I tested the housing system.

Tested the housing system.

Got shrunkified by Stoot at a party.

Was shrunkified by Stoot.

Attended an end of the world party before the launch of housing.

Attended an end of the world party before the launch of housing.

Begged and bribed people to my home street to experiment on tree patch lifespan.

Begged and bribed people to my home street to experiment on tree patch lifespan.

Played around with the greatest bug ever.

Played around with the greatest bug ever.

Made Ayn Rand sit next to the pig.

Made Ayn Rand sit next to the pig.

Fried my CPU with a cubimal swarm.

Fried my CPU with a cubimal swarm.

Had drunken late night guests.

Had drunken late night guests.

Hid in the trees.

Hid in the trees.

Stared down Trisor.

Stared down Trisor.

Pranked a friend with empty notes everywhere.

Pranked a friend (KM did most of it, but I helped) by placing empty notes everywhere.

Monkeyed around.

Monkeyed around.

Expressed some strange ideas.

Expressed some strange ideas.

Waited for bad news with good friends.

Waited for the closure announcement with good friends.

17 is too small a number.

Farewell Glitch.   To the people of Tiny Speck: best wishes.  I hope the future brings great things for each of you. To the people of PBMS, thank you for making it worthwhile to open Glitch even when I didn’t want to play.  To the people of Ur: like the exiles of Faunasphere and GNE, there will be some game that attracts a large number of us again.  I’ll see you there.

One response to “Farewell Good Friend

Leave a Reply

